The Importance of Literacy

 

Literacy is so important for every aspect of a person’s life.  No one is born with the natural desire to be a reader or know how to write, but your upbringing and exposure to reading greatly impacts a person’s love or hate of reading.  I began reading at the age of 4 years old, so my mother says, and I have been an avid reader for as long as I remember.  I read to my children at very young ages and my son has also picked up my love for words.  I do understand that everyone isn’t going to read all the time, but the most important aspect of reading is that you have the ability to read, write, and comprehend.

No matter what you choose to do with your life, you will need to know how to understand and communicate efficiently through the ability to read and write.  It is very important that young people grasp this at a very young age so they will make sure they surpass these requirements early.  With so many young people not finishing grade school and far less continuing their education afterwards, it honestly doesn’t surprise me that so many people have literacy problems.  Another issue is the high use of abbreviations and text “slang” that is consistently being used by people of all ages.  I, once again, admit that I am guilty of these things too.  I always felt that because I knew the right way to actually spell that it didn’t matter but it does.  I consistently find myself correcting cousins, nieces, nephews, friends, and other young people when I can’t take it anymore.

Reading can be a way to escape your world and learn new things.  It can increase your imagination and broaden your horizons.  Writing can help you express yourself through your inner thoughts feelings and create a world for someone to escape into.  Reading and writing can not only be used for everyday basics but they can take your life from ordinary to EXTRAORDINARY. 

I love words and that makes it that much easier for me to share that love and joy with others.  I suggest that others do the same.  Peace & Blessings xoxo

Leave a Reply

